beatetoykapianist

Musician, pianist, and teacher with a delight in sharing music

Schubert in the Cathedral, Friday 16 June at 1.00 -1.45 pm – FREE

Leave a comment

The poster below says it all – I am playing this piece (Schubert’s wonderful last sonata in B flat major, D960)  for the first time again after 30 years because I knew I would be in the right frame of mind for it – after 2 very busy festivals of a different sort I wanted a calm and wide piece I could really sink into, with the mood carrying me forward…I have also missed very much playing a ‘Lieder’ recital with one of my wonderful singer colleagues in Belper Music Festival as in previous years. The attendance for those had just been too poor to justify putting another one on. But what better excuse to play piano music by Schubert, the master of songwriters, instead? So there is my reasoning – and I have enjoyed every minute of practising this wonderful music. It is passion with depth and tenderness – just a wonderful combination. If you are coming do tell me what you thought…

June 16 Cathedral lunchtime concert

Author: beatetoyka

I am a musician, pianist, teacher, and event organiser, with a delight in sharing music with the widest audience possible. My music is rooted in a strong conservatoire education, in both Germany and England. Whilst remaining active in the classical tradition, I have strong interests in innovative events and formats.

Leave a Reply

